Search FairWild
Support FairWild

Make a donation today!


FairWild Foundation is a member of:

FairWild Standard Principles

The FairWild Standard has 11 Principles and 29 Criteria addressing ecological, social and economic requirements for sustainable wild collection. The FairWild Principles and Criteria are grouped based on the following requirements:

For collection operations:

  • Wild Collection and Conservation Requirements (Principles 1-2)
  • Legal and Ethical Requirements (Principles 3-4)
  • Social and Fair Trade Requirements (Principles 5-8)
  • Management and Business Requirements (Principles 9-10)

For buyers of wild-collected products:

  • Promoting Buyer Commitment (Principle 11)

To understand the main features and requirements, explore the FairWild Principles:




The FairWild Standard is accompanied by a detailed set of Performance Indicators (PDF). These are used to assess a certification applicants’ compliance with requirements. They can also be used in verification where certification is not the expected outcome.

A rating system is applied to the control points, defining scores from 0 (poor performance/not compliant) to 3 (excellent performance). For certification, a collection operation must meet all MINIMUM requirements set in the relevant year, as well as increase the total score year-on-year. For details, see Rating System.

An additional set of performance indicators are applied for any species considered by the FairWild Foundation to be at high risk of unsustainable wild collection. For further details, see Risk Classification.

Next Page » Rating System