Search FairWild
Support FairWild

Make a donation today!


FairWild Foundation is a member of:

FairWild Standard Rating System

Applying the rating system to requirements for FairWild certification

The FairWild Standard is accompanied by performance indicators. The control points are used to assess certification applicants’ compliance with the FairWild Standard requirements. They can also be used as verifiers where certification is not the expected outcome.

The rating system has been designed to facilitate continuous improvement, and to demonstrate commitment beyond minimum performance.

For each of the first 10 FairWild Principles and related Criteria that apply to wild-collection operations, indicators/control points are defined as quantitative or qualitative parameters that can be verified to assess an operation’s compliance with the Criteria.

The rating system allows certification applicants some flexibility to meet the Criteria according to specific situations, while ensuring a high overall performance level through compliance with clearly defined minimum certification requirements.

Scoring of Control Points and Norm Requirements:

0 - poor performance/not compliant;
1 - not yet sufficient, but already positive developments towards meeting the FairWild requirements;
2 - the norm for sustainable collection for each indicator/control point; adequately meeting the FairWild criterion;
3 - excellent performance: higher than norm requirements.

Minimum Requirements:

For certification, an operation must meet the following two types of requirements:

1. All M=MINIMUM requirements must be met. Only some indicators/control points are included in the minimum requirements. Some indicators/control points become MINIMUM requirements only during the second or third year of certification.

2. Additionally, a gradually increasing minimum percentage of Total Norm Points is required for FairWild certification (i.e. total if all points rated as 2). The minimum percentage of Total Norm Points required for the first year of certification is 60%, gradually increasing to 100% compliance over five years.

Guidance documents:


Next Page » Risk Classification